What's in a name?

One of the questions we get most at GDM is from clients who are looking for a better understanding of the various status definitions and how they apply to different jurisdictions. It can be confusing...not every code applies everywhere, and different phases may have different names in every jurisdiction.

To help make this simpler, we have broken out the pipeline lifecycle into 4 phases:

Regulatory Approval

Approval to construct a pipeline based on meeting regulated consultation, environment, safety, commercial and engineering requirements.

Design and Construction

The physical installation of a pipeline to regulatory and CSA standards.


A pipeline which has regulatory approval, is constructed and is carrying substance. The operation phase incorporates activity from when a pipeline begins operating until the time it is permanently abandoned.


The permanent deactivation of a pipeline from service.

Codes by Jurisdiction

Have any other questions about GDM’s data? Contact us. We’re happy to help!